Posted on Apr 28, 2019
The Rotary Club of Bethlehem was organized on April 13, 1916 in the old Eagle Hotel and was chartered as the 225th Club of Rotary International on June 1 of that same year. There were 29 charter members. Robert Sayre Taylor, Sr. was the first President.
The Eagle Hotel
Did you know that in 1916:
  • Bethlehem was three separate boroughs-North, West, and South. The three boroughs would not be combined into the City of Bethlehem until the following year with Archibald Johnson as the first Mayor.
  • A covered bridge still spanned the Lehigh River and the Hill-to-Hill Bridge would not be built until later.
  • The first eight miles of a demonstration highway using local-produced cement connecting Bethlehem and Easton was completed and dedicated in. It was named The William Penn Highway.